Print Ready.

Use. Two week Brief.

This brief is all about print. In our uni we have large, high quality print facilities. However I doubt anyone actually uses them! I don’t use it because its expensive and I can go else where to find cheap and high quality prints. However I’m sure there will be a time that I will have to print in uni, plus the more options I have the better.

I have never actually be taught or told how to set up a file to make sure its properly set for a printer to use. I normally just set my work as a PDF and make sure it is in CMYK. Never before have I considered the file size and the resolution.

This project is basically information design. Designing information that communicates a way to help students prepare work for print, inform them about how the printing process works, and how they can access the print workshop and who the technicians are.

The brief also says the piece of work must;

  • Deliver technical and practical information.
  • Influence how a user responds / consider the user and the importance of designing something from a user’s perspective.

This project follows slightly from the mediums and messages brief, as I feel like that what materials and how I design the piece must have and meaning, and that meaning will influence the user to behave in a particular way.

For Monday I must have intelligent questions to ask, presumably about print, so far I have come with;

  • Why have tutors always suggested I use laser printer rather than an inkjet for final piece work?
  • Do we have a laser printer at CSM?

As well as that, for Monday I have ideas, designs & print outs! So this weekend is going to be super busy with creating work. Tomorrow I plan to look further into information design, and how design can help people use things e.g Instruction manual, Step-by-Step guides etc. Hopefully Sunday I will have sketches / ideas and print outs!

Leave a Reply

