Major Project Proposal.

Major project proposal. Exploration of area of interest.

20120225-114228 PM.jpg

As a graphic design student you’d expect it would be pretty straight forward for me to explain or even just think about what interested me about the subject… Perhaps even something else that maybe connected with design. But no.

I feel as though I’m not interested in anything. So far I’ve come up with that I am interested in good design. Whether that be graphic, product or architectural.

I’m also interested in the areas of;
– form
– function
– concept
– usability
– purpose

During this week I have been trying to look deeper into why I like “good design” and also try and discover what it is.

I came across Dieter Ram’s Ten principles of good design. However asking my lecturer about this theorist/designer, he is not a person that I should consider… But to me, even though he is a product designer mainly I still feel he has valid points.

How things look, is quite a touché subject in design. There is the whole Arts and Craft movement where William Morris said that you should not have anything in your home that is not useful or beautiful.

It seems the issue is that people don’t like design if it’s main priority is to look good. But surely that can be a function in itself?

Even art has made this transition from being something than was admired and was created out of beauty and story telling into something which must stir up provoking questions and should be more conceptual.

To me it seems that aesthetics or admiring something that looks good is an shameful thing to do. Others will judge you for it. Is this because design, such as graphics needs to make a stand, to appear more serious, taken serious as a cultural subject such as Fine Art or classical music.

I’m not saying that design or work should be created purely because of looks as then it is ultimately pointless plus it won’t last.

Regarding form, function and that equation, it seems a lot more complex now. There is more to good design than this. I feel that form (aesthetics) gets quite a bad name. But there is nothing that stops form being part of the function, a piece of text can easily printed from a computer and state a message, but if that same message was done by hand it could really reinforce the content… For example a letter to a friend or a birthday greeting.

So far I’m trying to find image of what I find to be good design. It is actually quite difficult. As one blogger said, good design is like love, you can’t describe what it is, but you know it when you see it. (or feel it in loves case.)

While searching through images I have come across pieces of design that I would say are timeless, such as Edward Johnson’s typeface created for the underground or Swiss 1940s posters.

However, this then suggests to me that good design changes. Good design when William Morris was around, is different from the good design of today.

So this is where I’m at. I don’t have a essay question as of yet, but I do feel like my ideas and thoughts are coming together. If anyone has idea or information or a research area that I should look into that would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

