Bill. Development & Final Crit.

Two week brief. sustain.

Okay. So the past month I haven’t kept on top of my online sketchbook as I’ve been super busy writing my project proposal, doing this project as well as doing another project. But now its the easter holiday so I am catching up from with the behind blog posts, so the tenses in which I write may change.

**Pictures are really poor quality, I have no idea whats going on with the focus on these!**

In the interim crit we spoke a lot about colour choice of paper. I did some experimenting with paper colour as well as the form of the envelope.

I decided that I would use the paper so it would fold into its own envelope so that it would save paper therefor being more sustainable than using extra paper to case the information. The layout is really simple, and the language is friendly. On the envelope side is the users address, the gas companies details and contact information. It is also says the billing amount, but the way the paper is folded that piece of information is contained on the inside.

I used large simple graphs and charts that compared the persons usage to the target that they had set themselves, for that month as well as the rest of the year.

I tired so many different papers, and i’m still trying to find the right one! I wanted to use yellow, orange and red to show the user what their usage has been before they have even opened the letter. However the black seemed to get lost on the red paper, then I decided to use pastel colour paper so that the text would stand out more, but this gives the impression that your constantly doing a good job. Also the pastel colours were too transparent.

Feedback from the crit;

– Change the EM Dash on the dates, the rule is right but it just doesn’t work visually.

– Combine the paragraphs, don’t leave so much space in the text.

– Experiment with the chart that shows targets.

– Make the reference number larger and easier to see.

During this holiday I will revisit this project as I have another assessment when I go back, at the end of term, but thankfully no presentation!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

