Unit 10 – Brief 1: Rest in Pixels – Ideas, Analysis, Experiments

It’s been a while since I have done anymore of my Rest In Pixels project. I have been taking full advantage of the Christmas holidays to do nothing, however now with a little over a week left until I go back to UNI I thought that it would be best to get back on track as I don’t want to be doing this project when I have a million other projects to do too.

( A side note / explanation of pictures below – As much as I love my MacBook Pro, it is too heavy to lug around, top spec means top weight it seems, so I have been looking at getting a smaller laptop to use for UNI when only researching or using the Internet etc. in the end I’ve bought myself – Xmas present to me – a ipad mini and a little keyboard. I’m using it as I type and its quite good to have the keyboard to help type things up quickly… Anyway, I ask downloaded an app called paper by 53. It’s a sketching app where you can have multiple mole skins basically. I have done some sketches below using the app. Once I get a stylus I think it will be a lot easier to control what I write and draw. )

20121229-161849.jpg

I’m back to experimenting again, pushing what I have so far a bit further to see which visual avenue would be the best to express the scale and mass of tweets that are posted on a daily basis about death and those who have died.

My main focus is scale so I have been looking at how this site will cope with the huge amount of tweets per day. The site needs to flexible so that it can show the tweets tallying up, but not literally like a counter (what I had before – as what happens when you fill this counter to 999,999,999 etc)

20121229-161843.jpg

I thought about maybe having a fluid / flexible grid system that would move in to multiples when more tweets were added. For example the first million tweets may fit into one single column with infinite scrolling, but when the tweet limit goes over 1 million, the column would split into two, and this would keep going and going until there are so many vertical lines that you are unable to read what the tweets say.

20121229-161835.jpg

Following the lines of the data/visual splitting into more once more content is produced, I started to look at how the visual could differ from columns. I looked at stacking the information, like when entering time machine on apple, you can then flick back through the tweets, however this does not really represent the shear mass of data… It looks infinite but it has more visual impact when you see all the data in one space.

This leads me on to looking at what the content is made up from in terms of the multiplying and that is pixels. The more content there is the more pixels there are. So perhaps I could create a system that has squares for tweets and when there are more and more tweets the smaller the squares get until it is a mass of pixels. This also means I would have to colour code them well otherwise it would be a web page that is one solid colour. Perhaps different colours for dates, popularity etc.

20121230-094629.jpg

I quite like the idea of the tweets getting smaller and smaller but I will need to have a look at pixels some more, as I will need to be able to communicate that this is about death, and the online legacy people continue for you.

Leave a Reply

