Unit 10 – Brief 1: Rest in Pixels – Webpage Mock-Up

Below are screen shots of my creation of the Rest In Pixels webpage.

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 12.04.41

I tried my initial idea of using just squares to represent tweets, but to be honest it looks disgusting. So I decided to play around with some other ideas that I sketched out before.

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 13.43.26I included a strip across the top that allows the user to see each tweet once they click on it, they then can scroll across to the right to see older tweets or to the left to see newer tweets.

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 13.58.48I also looked at different ways to indicate the left and right scroll through. As well as this I added in a faint indicator to show the number of tweets to a specific point. I used a dashed line and kept the text to a small size as I did not want to interrupt the scrolling process. By using numbers the user can scroll down the page to find various totals and look through what was being said at a specific time.

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 14.04.51

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 14.09.05

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 14.15.32

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 14.15.10

I included an about section and contact area as I feel that when some people see this site they may have questions about the site, as well as the project. Therefor the about section is a quick explanation of my project or my feelings towards it and the contact area they can send me emails if there are any other questions. Perhaps I may add a question form on their or even create a FAQ tab if I get the same questions from people via email or face to face.

I’m relatively happy with it so far, I think I need some feedback from other and then I can work on the layout some more, but really I need to start coding it. This will probably start this term coming. Then over the holidays I hope to create an installation backed off this website.

Leave a Reply

