Unit 10 – Self Directed Project: Brief 1 – Visual Ideas Development

I made a quick version my dominant idea. I can see already that I don’t want to pursue the idea of re-reading information by repeating the text. I think this confuses the information as I am adding to it. By using more than one personal experience of the process to the design it may make it look over complicated as well as confused. From this I will test out using typography to represent the difficulty of the text – rather than repeating information.

Test 1. Using instructions and space to represent the time passed between steps.

Screen Shot 2013-01-13 at 20.03.10

Test 2. Multiplying information. I did this because during the process of making jam there was some steps that I reread multiple times. I do think this is an interesting point in the process, however I don’t feel that others will understand what I am trying to say. They most likely will believe they have to do that step multiple times, where as the information regarding the time between the steps would/should be the same for everyone and I feel that using space is clear visual to display passing time. 1. Because it takes time for your eye to find the next line. 2. There is a clear break between information.

Screen Shot 2013-01-13 at 20.03.00

For now I will focus upon the time factor mainly as this will lead to multiple visual experiments by its self. Typography is a clear element where I will need to make decisions, so that is a given, but as said before the extra complication of additional information I don’t believe to be necessary at this stage.

Leave a Reply

