Unit 10 – Self Directed Project: Brief 1 – Visual Ideas Development .2

Following the sketches from this morning I decided to continue my dominant idea of using space to represent time and scale. When drawing and developing my idea I found that there was an issue regarding the information I had. Some parts of the recipes do not contain a time, therefore it is impossible to add in without knowing the correct time. I changed slight what I am focusing on, which is; looking at the time between the steps, not the time taken for each. So when steps contain no time reference, this means that the step is directly after the previous.

20130114-144630.jpgI then tried to think of ways that I could represent the time between the steps, whether that be a dash for every minute gone or a symbol. I also tried developing another one of my ideas that was looking at the process as a whole (literally, a circle) but this just reminded me of terrible generic information graphics, so I decided to give than up.

20130114-144654.jpgUsing indesign I created some quick digital versions of my sketches. By using the computer I think it helps you quickly understand what works and what doesn’t. I feel like the space between the steps could work (to represent the time) but by creating this layout its helped me see that I really need to consider where I am positioning information and why.

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 14.34.47OCR-A : Typeface used in processing, digital, connection to the microwave.
Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 14.37.17

Meta : Typeface used heavily in information design, modern font but with added personality.
Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 14.41.08I think it definitely time to move on from this dominant idea and to look at another system that could display the information meaningfully. For example, the words used within the text; Pour, Stir, Mix, etc.

Leave a Reply

