Unit 10 – Brief 2: Authentic Visual Identity – Development: Typography Edits

I have been trying to work on the feedback that I gained from friends and other students. I understand the issue with the type. I have tried to enlarge the type so that it doesn’t feel so “lost” when sitting next to the mark ( I wont call it a logo anymore as I want it to influence all the other elements of the identity )

By allowing the name of each college to sit above the mark, it stands out a lot more as well as feels more fitted (?) within the shape. Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 10.19.32

While thinking about how the text could sit on the right side of the shape I looked at how the text would sit if all colleges were stacked upon each other. To be honest it looks a bit of a mess. Perhaps due to the rainbow of colour as well as the height of the shape.

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 10.23.48

I also tried some other experiments where the text, depending on which college what being focused on, moved to the highlighted area/shape. I actually feel that this also works, however it isn’t as neat or consistent, but perhaps that is okay?

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 10.20.31

This idea reminds me of when the college had the asterisk logo, where the stars sat in relation to location of each other. Perhaps this could work in terms of an animation but it doesn’t seem to great as a fixed mark.

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 10.35.35I feel that I just need to make some slight adjustments to the typography then I think the mark will be pretty much there. I will test out how I can make an animation and then also think about where my mark could sit and how this can influence the rest of the UAL Identity.

Leave a Reply

